*:・゚✧Novel Spotlight: Book Recommendations #0

book-759873_960_720.jpg

So I think this would be a good little nifty thing. I’m intending to do one for cartoons, anime, manga, comics. And not just one for each, either. I find those are so limited.

Instead, the ones I consider 4-5 stars I’ll talk a bit about them, what they’re about and why I liked them.

It’ll be any genre I read/watch, and not straight either. I’ll put a M/M or a F/F in those cases. My links will direct to GoodReads, or to MyAnimeList. I am in no way affiliated, getting paid to, nor otherwise.

Continue reading

*:・゚✧Novel Spotlight: Parasite Eve

image

Filled with scientific acuity and existential challenges in the tradition of Ghost in the Shell and Frankenstein, this medical fantasmagoria is a disorienting look into the consciousness and will have you questioning the future of human evolution. New life begins at the cellular level, but when that cell contains restless mitochondria, it will aspire to be much more than just a speck in a petri dish. Parasite Eve was the basis of the hugely popular video game of the same name and has been cinematized in Japan, where the novel’s smashing success helped set off a horror boom that has only been intensifying ever since.

When Dr. Nagashima loses his wife in a mysterious car crash, he is overwhelmed with grief but also an eerie sense of purpose; he becomes obsessed with the idea that he must reincarnate his dead wife. Her donated kidney is transplanted into a young girl with a debilitating disorder, but the doctor also feels compelled to keep a small sample of her liver in his laboratory. When these cells start mutating rapidly, a consciousness bent on determining its own fate awakens from an eonic sleep.

from GR

Parasite Eve was such a popular horror sci-fi book in Japan that it got translated into English, got transformed into a movie, manga and the most wildly know: the games.

I have not played the games, I’m too much of a pusseh to be able to play horror games or anything spooky that involves survival ._.

So I judged this book solely on it’s writing, or translation, and without much preconceptions. After all, I do know about the series, I’ve seen a Let’s Play by Cry (Cryaotic or ChaoticMonki) till the end, and it was after I read the book. Way after.

Continue reading

*:・゚✧Novel Spotlight: Digital Devil Story – Goddess Reincarnation

dds_megami_tensei_original

Jusho High School’s student body is divided: the gifted versus the normal. Akemi Nakajima, one of the gifted, is assaulted by one of the normal students, Kondo Hiroyuki. Battered and bloody, Nakajima decides to finish his Demon Summoning Program to exact his own revenge. What follows are the consequences of playing with demons…

from GR

Atlus based their Shin Megami Tensei series on this book, at least the first book was an adaptation of sorts. I’ve always been curious what birthed Atlus into being what they are, since I will not play that game because a) no IOS or Android device and b) I’m not going to emulate uber old games.

Continue reading