Ace Attorney: Phoenix Wright

image

Developer(s) Capcom
Publisher(s) Capcom
Director(s) Shu Takumi
Producer(s) Atsushi Inaba
Minae Matsukawa (DS)
Artist(s) Kumiko Suekane
Tatsuro Iwamoto
Writer(s) Shu Takumi
Composer(s) Masakazu Sugimori
Naoto Tanaka (DS)
Series Ace Attorney
Platform(s) Game Boy Advance,Nintendo DS,Microsoft Windows, Wii,iOS, Android,Nintendo 3DS
Release date(s)
Genre(s) Adventure, visual novel

Is a mixture of visual novel and adventure that works really well. First we collect evidence on various places as we examine murder and witnesses. Once that’s compete (there’s no way to miss items, I think) we go the main part of the game: the court.

There we present evidence, fight against witnesses with items we found, and discover slowly who really is the villain and how they did it, and why.

Ace Attorney is deep down a story about humans and how they fuck up, and all with a healthy dose of mirth that when things get tight save the situation.

All the cases weren’t heavy, but the last one is double the size of the previous ones, and also much more intense.

Phoenix Wright is a good MC, he’s just finished passing his bar exam when he gets involved in having to fight easily manipulated judges by the prosecutor, fight said prosecutor, and having a ridiculous low time to piece together a case (3 days).

Where the game shines is really the characters, specially Maya, Mia, Edgeworth, Gumshoe, et al. I found myself attached to them, quirks and all, and wanting to play more but at the same time feeling so satisfied I didn’t want to poke it and just bask in the warm feeling of a job well done.

I found myself sweating alongside Phoenix because I didn’t know who the culprits were, and I had to piece it slowly as the prosecutors threw new witnesses and items we hadn’t seen before. It was a sweat well spent.

I’m in love with Shu Takumi (creator of the this and Ghost Trick) because of how likable and human the cast felt, and how the cases were always logical and made sense after presenting evidences (there was maybe two times where evidence didn’t make sense to present on specific lines but, I’ll let it slide xD).

Happy gaming everyone! ~(^з^)-☆

Have you heard about this game before? Have you played it? If so, I’d love to know what you think of it!

11 thoughts on “Ace Attorney: Phoenix Wright

    • Thank you! It was one of the series that got me really interested in VN. Since then I’ve nonstop fallen down the hole O(≧∇≦)O (it’s also one of the reasons why I really like VN with gameplay of the detective/adventure type!)

      Liked by 1 person

        • AA is a really good introduction to the genre, Danganronpa is another good one! (☆^ー^☆)
          My first was actually Higurashi, because of the anime at the time! (⌒▽⌒)
          No, I haven’t. I didn’t like how it was sideways to play, it looked hard to get used to (>y<)
          Have you played Ghost Trick? It’s by Shu Takumi too, VN with puzzles, I want to do a post on it because it made me cry in happiness and that’s so rare (-^〇^-)

          Liked by 1 person

          • Playing sideways was super weird at first, but I got used to it and the story for Hotel Dusk is really good! I’m playing Ghost Trick now! I’m not finished yet but it is really good too! Looking forward to your post on it 😀 !

            Like

            • Oh, is the story that good? I guess I got weirder out by the sideways and the noir look. I should try it, don’t know when though (>y<)(I’m currently playing Starry Sky Spring on PSP to better help with learning the language o(╥﹏╥)o )
              GT is so good. So, so good /sighs happily
              First I need to do the posts on the other 3 AA games since I’ve already finished them o(〃^▽^〃)o
              But, I will definitely be doing a post for GT! I’m so sad Shu Takumi got removed from the AA series. The 5 and 6 game (both 3DS ones) he wasn’t involved. He’s doing the prequel set in ancient japan /grumbles at Capcom forever

              Liked by 1 person

                • Capcom…
                  /shakes head
                  No words

                  I’m excited for the prequel but what are the chances of it getting localised after the shit they pulled with Dual Destinies? And considering the setting…
                  /remembers all the hamburgers and donuts Maya ate when it was rice balls and sushi on the images…
                  /sweats
                  It’d be really nice if they brought it (★^O^★)

                  I’ll bump Hotel Dusk up then, you’re the second person telling me it had a good story (though I got warned it was a slow game (´∀`))

                  Liked by 1 person

                    • /whispers sadly
                      Ace Attorney Investigations 2
                      /looks into the sunset

                      I’m crossing all my fingers that Capcom realises it’ll sell. They don’t have excuses that visual novels don’t sell when kick starter has been showing they will be funded and people do want these games (be they galge, otoge, etc) (°∀°)b

                      Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Last Week Today: Week End Recap- Feb.7th to Feb.13th 2016 – Nice Job Breaking It, Hero

Comment

