Never 7 -The End of Infinity-

Developer(s) KID
Publisher(s)
Director(s) Takumi Nakazawa
Writer(s) Kotaro Uchikoshi
Composer(s) Takeshi Abo
Series Infinity
Platform(s) PlayStation
Neo Geo Pocket
Dreamcast
Microsoft Windows
PlayStation 2
Macintosh
PlayStation Portable
Android
iOS
Release date(s)
Genre(s) Visual novel

I’ve been a huge fan of the Zero Escape series (comprising 999 and VLR, both which I’ve talked about) so it was no surprise that when I learned that the writer for this series worked on the Infinity series…I had to play them, duuh~

Continue reading

Advertisements

Final Fantasy X HD

Intro

Developer(s)
Publisher(s) Square Enix
Producer(s)
Artist(s)
Writer(s) Kazushige Nojima
Composer(s)
Series Final Fantasy
Platform(s)
Release date(s)
Genre(s) Role-playing

I’d long forgotten so many tiny parts of the whole story, besides the fact that the very first time I played it I was 10 and did not understand it. The second time was more than 4 years ago, and I felt it was a really amazing ride then.

Continue reading

Sweet Fuse -At Your Side-

image

Developer(s) Idea Factory, Comcept
Platform(s) PlayStation Portable
Release date(s)
  • JP: June 14, 2012
  • NA: August 27, 2013
  • EU: August 28, 2013
Genre(s) Romance, Mystery

This game is really sweet (pun intended). Saki is an amazing heroine, she doesn’t wait for anyone to take the lead, she’s the only one to volunteer for Hogstein’s sick game, and she doesn’t take any shit from the main guys.

Continue reading

*:・゚✧Novel Spotlight: Parasite Eve

image

Filled with scientific acuity and existential challenges in the tradition of Ghost in the Shell and Frankenstein, this medical fantasmagoria is a disorienting look into the consciousness and will have you questioning the future of human evolution. New life begins at the cellular level, but when that cell contains restless mitochondria, it will aspire to be much more than just a speck in a petri dish. Parasite Eve was the basis of the hugely popular video game of the same name and has been cinematized in Japan, where the novel’s smashing success helped set off a horror boom that has only been intensifying ever since.

When Dr. Nagashima loses his wife in a mysterious car crash, he is overwhelmed with grief but also an eerie sense of purpose; he becomes obsessed with the idea that he must reincarnate his dead wife. Her donated kidney is transplanted into a young girl with a debilitating disorder, but the doctor also feels compelled to keep a small sample of her liver in his laboratory. When these cells start mutating rapidly, a consciousness bent on determining its own fate awakens from an eonic sleep.

from GR

Parasite Eve was such a popular horror sci-fi book in Japan that it got translated into English, got transformed into a movie, manga and the most wildly know: the games.

I have not played the games, I’m too much of a pusseh to be able to play horror games or anything spooky that involves survival ._.

So I judged this book solely on it’s writing, or translation, and without much preconceptions. After all, I do know about the series, I’ve seen a Let’s Play by Cry (Cryaotic or ChaoticMonki) till the end, and it was after I read the book. Way after.

Continue reading